Birthdays….

September is certainly a birthday month of Kaz Family.. .

Bonda Khamariah – 12th (1954)

Darl Rayyann – 13th (2009)

Afiekaz – 21st (1995)

Bro Naufal – 22nd (1987)

Sis Fau – 23rd (1979)

I would like to wish them all the best. May Allah bless them with happiness, health, wealth (whatever form of wealth, I pray).. and grace them with His Rahmah always. Ameen..

Happy 1st birthday, Rayyann dearest


Speaking of birthdays.. the other day, after performing my zuhr prayer, I bumped into Nazia, whom I haven’t seen for a while (the last time I saw her was 2 days before the Eid). I wished her belated birthday (hers was on the same day as Rayyann). She was a bit reluctant to accept my wish, but nevertheless she thanked me for it.

And the reason why she acted that way was, she understands celebrating birthday is not allowed in Islam. I was surprised.  Immediately I replied,

“But Prophet Muhammad s.a.w ‘celebrated’ his own birthday by fasting on Mondays, cos it was the day he was born”..

I recalled a hadith which has been featured in few articles by scholars who debated about celebrating Maulidur Rasul.

“Yeah, I know. But the Shafiyah’s school doesn’t permit to..because it means imitating the non-believers”, something she replied.

I didn’t dwell more on the topic. Despite deep in my mind, I kept thinking… if school of shafiyah (Imam Shafie’s) doesn’t permit that, the scholars in Malaysia, a country which holds up the school higher than any other school of thoughts, would have long harped about it – MUSLIMS CAN’T CELEBRATE BIRTHDAYS.

In the afternoon, I went to google the issue up. I found a few answers online, one of them is from islamonline.net, one of the famous sites I go to when I have questions regarding Islam..

It is also right to say that such celebrations contain some aspects of innovation, however it is an innovation in matters of popular habits not in matters of religion. Actually innovation in habits is not prohibited. What is prohibited in this context is innovation in religion, as indicated in a well-known Prophetic hadith.Read more: http://www.islamonline.net/servlet/Satellite?pagename=IslamOnline-English-Ask_Scholar/FatwaE/FatwaE&cid=1119503547996#ixzz10OiLFImX

But the one that I’d like to highlight is a blog by our muslim brother, Saad.

Personally I share the same view as his. I went on to read the readers’ comments too, who knows I’d learn something new. Some of them who didn’t agree with this brother (saying celebrating birthday is haram) said things which was not nice to hear.

What I’d like to point out is (I’m not giving out fatwa, Ya Allah please forgive me if I’m wrong in this..) celebrating birthday is furu’ (perkara cabang dalam agama). That’s why scholars have different views on this. As layman, with our very limited knowledge in Islamic studies, we follow scholars’ view, with the condition we know their background and their fatwas are based on Quran and hadiths.

Thus, I was not very happy when it comes to small issues as this, the muslims argue and fight over it. Each person has valid reasons on why s/he does it. Unless it is something that is clearly wrong, we must be open minded and let one practice Islam truely and in harmony environment.

Another reason why I feel it’s okay celebrating birthdays as long as there’s no haram elements involved, having good time is human nature.. and Islam doesn’t kill the nature but guides our nature. InsyaAllah..

فَأَقِمۡ وَجۡهَكَ لِلدِّينِ حَنِيفً۬ا‌ۚ فِطۡرَتَ ٱللَّهِ ٱلَّتِى فَطَرَ ٱلنَّاسَ عَلَيۡہَا‌ۚ لَا تَبۡدِيلَ لِخَلۡقِ ٱللَّهِ‌ۚ ذَٲلِكَ ٱلدِّينُ ٱلۡقَيِّمُ وَلَـٰكِنَّ أَڪۡثَرَ ٱلنَّاسِ لَا يَعۡلَمُونَ

So set thy purpose (O Muhammad) for religion as a man by nature upright – the nature (framed) of Allah, in which He hath created man. There is no altering (the laws of) Allah’s creation. That is the right religion, but most men know not. (S30:30)

 

Oh Allah, please guide us to the straight path..

2 thoughts on “Birthdays….

  1. fatiha September 24, 2010 / 1:55 am

    happy bday utk rayyan yang comel & gebuss. moga jd anak yg solehah yer!:D muah muah dari “KAK” tiha. hihihhihi:p

    • Ummu Rayyann September 24, 2010 / 4:59 pm

      Thank KAK Tiha.. ehehe…
      ameen, ameen…
      Rayyann doakan cpt dpt geng dr KAK Tiha..😀 insyaAllah…
      masa tu KAK kena tukarla jd MAK.. ekekeke~

Leave a Reply

