Sunnah itu..

ﺑﺴﻤ ﺃﻠﻠﻪ  ﺃﻠﺮﺤﻤﻦ ﺃﻠﺮﺤﻴﻢ

I’ve been sitting in front of my (school-provided) laptop for hours.

Most of the times I did my school work: mice behaviour- scoring, conference abstract-writing, to publish paper-writing, data-analysing.. Some of the times, facebook checking, news-reading..

Also, in the mean time, I’m thinking of what I’m gonna write on my blog.. on this significant day..

It’s Maulidur Rasul sallallah alaihi wassalam!

I know there are different opinions amongst scholars, on which date Rasulullah s.a.w was born. However, many agreed that this date – 12 Rabiul awwal, was the date he left us.😥

There’s just so many things going on in my mind, about how should I write this post. I don’t want to write his history, ‘cos to be honest, I don’t know every little detail of it. And I’m just suck in telling stories..

I guess I take this opportunity to remind myself especially and all readers the reason Rasulullah s.a.w was sent to us. He brought us the risalah, the deen of Islam, the perfect deen & the perfect way of life for us to embrace. He was the messenger from Allah to be the leader for us to follow.

هُوَ ٱلَّذِى بَعَثَ فِى ٱلۡأُمِّيِّـۧنَ رَسُولاً۬ مِّنۡہُمۡ يَتۡلُواْ عَلَيۡہِمۡ ءَايَـٰتِهِۦ وَيُزَكِّيہِمۡ وَيُعَلِّمُهُمُ ٱلۡكِتَـٰبَ وَٱلۡحِكۡمَةَ وَإِن كَانُواْ مِن قَبۡلُ لَفِى ضَلَـٰلٍ۬ مُّبِينٍ۬. وَءَاخَرِينَ مِنۡہُمۡ لَمَّا يَلۡحَقُواْ بِہِمۡ‌ۚ وَهُوَ ٱلۡعَزِيزُ ٱلۡحَكِيمُ

It is He Who has sent amongst the Unlettered a messenger from among themselves, to rehearse to them His Signs, to sanctify them, and to instruct them in Scripture and Wisdom -although they had been, before, in manifest error (2) As well as (to confer all these benefits upon) others of them, who have not already joined them: and He is Exalted in Might, Wise. (3)

Surah Al-Jumuah:2 & 3

Besides Al Quran as our guidance to the blessed path, Rasulullah s.a.w has left us his sunnah.

I’m certain many of us practice his many sunnah – perform sunnah prayers, fast on certain sunnah days, eat using the right hand, give sedeqah etc. But how many of us really know that there’s bigger sunnah than those things mentioned?

Amar maaruf nahi munkar

Yes, we’ve heard it many times. But have we really practice it?

Speaking for myself, I haven’t done it much, really. Sadly. But I’m trying to.

Well, I’ll say the first part is fairly easy. But the latter, it’s easier said than done.

Don’t get what I mean? For instance (cases are between muslims only), you ask a friend who rarely perform his/her prayer to pray with you. Difficulty scale: easy. You see your friend eating during the day in Ramadan, without any apparent reason and want to stop him/her from doing so. Difficulty scale: Less easy, unless s/he is someone like your younger brother or sister (nak cakap direct jenis xkisahla..).

Perhaps the examples I gave above aren’t good ones, but as you go along trying to do this sunnah, you’ll understand how difficult it is.

But don’t let the difficulty of ‘nahi munkar’ to stop you from doing it! Rasulullah s.a.w faced much bigger obstacles, but he succeeded, to say the least. Otherwise, we won’t be here living in the bless of Islam.

Anyway, for parents especially.. another sunnah that I’ve just learnt last Saturday. In tarbiyatul awlad – teaching our children. Before we teach them how to pray, fast etc, first introduce them to Allah. Teach them to love Allah before anything else.

I’d like to end my post today with sharing this clip. It’s for all of us to ponder..

Ke arah mana Islam kita?

p/s: Tahniah buat rakyat Mesir… moga yang lebih baik menanti kalian, dan juga umat Muslim seluruhnya.
Love reading this article by saifulislam.com

Leave a Reply

