G3P1+…..

It is quite common for a newly-delivered mothers to want to be pregnant again.

I had the same feeling after I had Rayyann. I initially thought it was odd for me to feel that way. However, it wasn’t. It’s common.

And what’s more common is for a woman to feel to have another child once the one(s) she already has has grown. Again, I fell into the said category😉

I missed my period last month. And the urine test I did showed that HCG hormone was positively detected. (I did the test on 28 June). Excited, for sure! Alhamdulillah..

On July 5th, I had an appointment with the GP. Instead of checking my well-being at the beginning of the pregnancy, it was an appointment to inform that I had a miscarriage. Innalilahi wa inna ilaihi rojiun..

G3P1+2

That’s my obstetric status now. G: gravidarum (pregnancy), P: parity (parturition, delivery). 3 after G means I have been pregnant 3 times, 1 after P indicates the full term delivery I had and 2 is two miscarriages I had. This is the simplest mean to denote your status. Some would say G3P1+0+2+1 (1 full term delivery, 0 preterm delivery, 2 miscarriages, 1 still alive child..fuh!)

Anyway, on Monday the 4th, in the afternoon at school I noticed I had spotting. And having experienced a miscarriage before, once we returned home, I lied down on the bed, placing my feet higher than my tummy. The next morning, suddenly I bled. Heavier than before. One time I had quite a severe cramp, and not so long after, a lump of mass made an exit.

When we went to see the GP, she confirmed the lump was a sac. I had to do another UPT  (urine pregnancy test). The HCG hormone could still be detected but the mark looked quite faint than when I did the first time.

Anyway, the doctor wanted to rule out ectopic pregnancy. So, I had to do 2 blood tests separated by two days to see the HCG level is in dropping pattern. Ideally it had to be done about a week after the appointment. But as I need to go for the conference in Italy, the things were being done sooner.

Ectopic pregnancy

I have known that ectopic pregnancy means pregnancy outside of the womb. The fertilized egg could have attached to the fallopian tube (most common), or stayed in the ovary, and these conditions expose the woman to danger. There is risk of internal bleeding, collapse or worse, fatal, if the embryo grows bigger and rupture the fallopian tube.

However, what I did not know was, what are the risk factors and symptoms of such condition.

From my online search, this is what I’ve got (Source: patient.co.uk):

High-risk group:

  • History of ectopic pregnancy
  • Damage or abnormality of Fallopian tube
  • Smoker or above 35 years old
  • Using coil (intrauterine contraceptive device)
  • Using assisted conception

Although I’m not in the high-risk group to have this condition, but it’s not impossible to have one. Below is the list of symptoms of tubal ectopic pregnancy.

Symptoms:

  • Pain on one side of the lower abdomen. It may develop sharply, or may slowly get worse over several days. It can become severe.
  • Vaginal bleeding often occurs, but not always. It is often different to the bleeding of a period. For example, the bleeding may be heavier or lighter than a normal period. The blood may look darker. However, you may think the bleeding is a late period.
  • Other symptoms may occur such as diarrhoea, feeling faint, or pain on passing faeces (stools).
  • Shoulder-tip pain may develop. This is due to some blood leaking into the abdomen and irritating the diaphragm (the muscle used to breathe).
  • If the Fallopian tube ruptures and causes internal bleeding, you may develop severe pain or ‘collapse’. This is an emergency as the bleeding is heavy.
  • Sometimes there are no warning symptoms (such as pain) before the tube ruptures. Therefore ‘collapse’ due to sudden heavy internal bleeding is sometimes the first sign of an ectopic pregnancy.

The doctor wanted to rule out this pregnancy, looking at the pattern of my situation: miscarriage at 5-6 weeks, and slight pain in the stomach.

Alhamdulillah, so far I’m good. But will have another follow up appointment next week.

If you ask whether I’m ok with what had happened, to be honest I did cry a bit. Probably because of the hormones. But I just give everything to Allah. Perhaps it’s not meant to be. Perhaps the time is not right for us, especially for me. Looking back at my schedule for the next few months, there will be lots of hard labour and exposure to harmful chemicals. InsyaAllah this is the best thing to happen.

 

..and it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and that you like a thing which is bad for you. Allah knows but you do not know. (Al-Baqarah:216)

 

Perhaps something better awaits us.

Allah’s will..

3 thoughts on “G3P1+…..

  1. Ana July 25, 2011 / 6:48 pm

    MasyaAllah, Ana tatau pun yang Dayah gugur. Bukan kalau gugur pun kena berpantang juga ke Dayah? Apa pun Ana doakan semoga Allah permudahkan segala urusan Dayah & jangan bersedih ya. Allah lebih mengetahui apa yang terbaik buat hambaNya.

    • Ummu Rayyann July 25, 2011 / 9:59 pm

      Hmm, selain family.. ini first time ‘bgtau’ kt org lain.. itulah org kata kena berpantang. tp xtau kalau peringkat awal, blum apa2 sgt kena berpantang juga ke? lgpon masa x izinkan. minggu gugur tu pon xde cuti, sbb tgh mid of experiment. insyaAllah mudah2an takde mudarat. betul kata Ana, Allah Maha Mengetahui. cuma fikir ada org yg lebih teruk keadaannya bila rs nak sedih hr tu. alhamdulillah, skrg rs lebih baik🙂

  2. Aleisha January 17, 2015 / 7:09 pm

    Hi admin do you need unlimited content for your site ?

    What if you could copy content from other pages, make it unique
    and publish on your blog – i know the right tool for you, just search in google:
    kisamtai’s article tool

Leave a Reply

