Err… Mr Cox who?!

‘Knock, knock..
Who’s there?
It’s Mr Cox..
Mr Cox who?
Mr Coxsakie laaa…’

Yes, Mr Coxsakie paid us a visit recently and he’s been around for over a week. If you’re not familiar with this coxsakie, it’s the virus (with many strains) that causes hand foot and mouth disease, better known as HFMD.

Rayyann first had it. She wasn’t her usual self on last Friday evening after we took her from the nursery. Cried when she consumed food on Saturday, and refused to take anything orally on Sunday.

On that Sunday morning also, I noticed she had sort of big blister bumps on her fingers, which the first impression caught on my mind was chicken pox. And quite immediately I told the whole world about it.But I only realized it wasn’t chickenpox, instead was HFMD, the day after, right after I checked again her body and there was no spots on her body, face and scalp.

Being very clingy, drooling almost all the time, hardly taking any food and drink (yes, she even screamed when I spurt a small volume of water down her throat), she’s been very, very weak. And seeing her in that condition really broke my heart.

Blister spots on right hand fingers

Deep down in my heart, I trust Allah that was the time when He want to grant me my prayer.  I’ve been praying to become a ‘sabar’ person. But I think I haven’t become one yet as I did explode my anger (or was it a frustration) towards Rayyann. Astaghfirullah al azim..

Do men think that they will be left alone on saying “We believe” and that they will not be tested? (2) We did test those before them, and Allah will certainly know those who are true from those who are false. (3) (Al-Ankabut, 2-3)

Anyway, Rayyann’s condition improved on Tuesday (two days after the spots appeared). Alhamdulillah. And she ate like she never ate before. MasyaAllah, how amazing!🙂

Interestingly, both Dzul and I caught the disease too. I had few mouth ulcers, and Dzul had spots on his hands and feet, also a couple of mouth ulcers which appeared a little later. For me, having few mouth ulcers certainly wasn’t pleasant at all. InsyaAllah, by going through this ordeal patiently (although not to the extend of sabar), may Allah forgive us for our sinful deeds.

Well, there goes the story of Mr Cox’s visit🙂

Leave a Reply

