Sekian, Para(O)lympic London 2012

Last Sunday night marked the end of the Paralympic (and Olympic) London 2012 Games season.

This time, I significantly felt their presence, and really miss them when they’ve ended.

Perhaps, being in the host country, I felt all the hype for years, what’s more with the full media coverage. Thus I totally embraced the spirit.

And perhaps, Ustaz Hasrizal’s perspective on the Olympic athletes significantly changed my view too on sports. Despite I was kinda a sport addict back in my school & uni days – I enjoyed playing sports but not much on following them, and I played just for fun.

At the same time, I was in a race myself, competing with the time to finish my thesis (did I mention I submitted it? Alhamdulillah, I did😀 ). Inspired by the Olympic slogan: Inspire the generation – I was truly inspired. Thank you very much!

I must say, I was (and amazingly, still am) really inspired by the spirit and determination of each athletes, the Paralympians in particular. They overcome their disabilities to perform something that even the capable people wouldn’t do.

I have to confess, I shed many tears watching the Olympic games. Pride and joy built up inside me when I saw an athlete won a medal for his country (with the exception of Mr Lin Dan, haha..). And I cried more tears when I watched Paralympic Games. Not due to regret or just out of pity, but mainly of awe and amazement. Especially during the 5-a-side football games of the visually impaired and swimming of the limbless. For me, in these two events were really special. They just used whatever they have, with very least help and support physically. Anyway, as the Channel 4 advert calls all the Paralympic athletes: Superhuman. (Oh, I love the advert. *See below* Super cool! Especially the final shot which shows the GB Paralympic athletes. They look like new members of the X-Men).

One thing for sure, I take a lot from the athletes, Olympic and Paralympic alikes. Skills, determination, effort, fearless and DISCIPLINE are all the important aspect to succeed. And as a muslim, of course, tawakkal ala Allah.

If I’m being honest, I feel that sport is really the key player in instilling the unity in our country. I felt the harmony and unity among Malaysians were stronger during Dato’ Lee Chong Wei’s final badminton match, Azizulhasni Awang’s cycling race, as well as Pandelela’s diving success than during our own National Day celebration itself. (Oops, our Paralympic athletes deserve the same recognition as well). Still, it shows that the hope for a successful nation is not lost for our country. You just need to cleverly push the right button. A note for all ministers, politicians.. and to Malaysians ourselves.

InsyaAllah, may Allah bless this wonderful country.

Belated Selamat Hari Merdeka!

p/s: Belated Selamat Aidilfitri too!🙂

Leave a Reply

